Early Life

Marzena Sowa, author of Marzi, was born in Stawola Wola, Poland, in 1979. At that time, Poland was under a communist rule, and the Cold War was actively going on. Through her book, we can get a pretty in-depth idea of how Sowa grew up, and how the warlike conditions affected her childhood.

Sowa grew up in a deprived society, living in what appears to be the lower end of the middle class. She had a somewhat normal childhood, even though the economy was extremely stressed. She had a vivid imagination, though sometimes it doesn’t really make her feel any better about her situation in life.

She is forced to grow up early, in a sense, by being made to acknowledge how very dangerous wartime Poland is. For example, when her father goes away to a strike, she immediately interprets her father’s actions as dangerous rebellion, and jumps to the conclusion that her father could be dead already.

Sowa herself talks about her overactive imagination in an interview with the LA Times, stating that she “felt what they felt, and maybe even worse, because children have an extraordinary imagination, and for me the souvenirs of the martial law were not so far away”.

Posted by Jess

2 thoughts on “Early Life

  1. When you view Marzena’s life story and compare her childhood to her adult life you can be happy knowing that all the hardships she went through eventually led her to where she is today. A lot of the time when people who haven’t experienced living in such an environment they can tend to take things for granted most of the time. I know I for one take for granted as an example, what crackers I can buy or if I want pizza today. She did not have that luxury along with all the other Polish citizens of that time. I feel empathetic towards her story and it makes me think upon my own and how truly lucky some of us are to be in the position to succeed. When I think about how grateful I am I remember this award winning blog called 1000 Awesome Things a long time ago and it reminds you of all you have to be thankful for in life.

    Like

  2. I agree that Marzi is forced to grow up in early age because of the war experience. I’m still not has a perfect understanding of war but at that very young age, she tried to understand her father’s strike, possible death of relatives or family. And it wouldn’t be easy to experience these moments.
    As Korean, I heard many stories of Japanese occupation period in Korea from my grandmother/father or media. And I still feel scared, anxious, and sad when I imagine the period. But how hard can it be to overcome those pain of war in that young age? This link is about the after effect of the long-term war experience. http://www.sciencemuseum.org.uk/broughttolife/themes/war/effects

    Like

Leave a Reply

